6 of the Best Places to Study/Work in Plymouth

My blog is all about the fusion between great work and unique experiences in my local area. I also work from home, something that sees me alternating between living in my pyjamas and eager to get out of the house whenever possible! So, when awesome vlogger Francesco D’Alessio contacted me about collaborating to talk about where our favourite out-of-office workspaces are, I jumped at the chance. Be sure to check out Francesco’s channel and keep reading to find out our six top picks and why we love to work there.


Hello! It’s Francesco here. I thought it would be nice to work with Aimee on picking a few of the best spots in Plymouth to work. I’m a productivity blogger and vlogger who shares top tips on tools and techniques to use and motivation for students across the UK. We hope you enjoy our list and we’ll be sure to see you down there!

1. Rockets and Rascals 

Francesco: I’m a really big fan of Rocket & Rascals. After maybe three or four visits, I was hooked. The atmosphere feels a little “start-up”-like and I’m a huge fan of this. With wood being the theme of this cycling-focused cafe, cyclist or not, this place is perfect for getting work done. With free WiFi, friendly staff and high quality local food available you’re in for a treat.

2. Rumpus Cosy

Aimee: Rumpus Cosy is a personal favourite of both myself and Francesco and I find it great for both work and meeting up with friends (usually to work our way down the very extensive tea menu!). The team at Rumpus are incredibly friendly and helpful and understand that sometimes we just need to leave the house to get some serious studying done. It’s vintage vibe and adjoining art gallery are usually all the inspiration I need to finish off a killer blog post (and the homemade cake helps too!).

3. The Stable

F: Discovering the new Stable restaurant was useful. Althought WiFi wasn’t available, using personal hotspot was worth it after getting such a fantastic open plan view of the harbour. This restaurant/pub blend is a hot spot for pizza and ciders, perfect for getting some blogging, emailing and graphic designing cracked out.

4. The Hoe

A: Working from home can be tough and, when I need an excuse to leave the house, I head to the Hoe. Armed with 3G and a smartphone, the waterfront can be a great place to fire off some emails, join the conversation on some Twitter trends and even come up with some ideas for your next project on good old pen and paper.

5. Boston Tea Party 

F: I’m going to be honest. I’m yet to go to the new Boston Tea Party in Plymouth. This is on my list for the following reasons. I’m currently based in Birmingham and the Boston Tea Party here offers such a great experience from customer service to traditional “super” foody feel that I had to mention it. I can’t wait to get back and make this my secondary office.

6. Drake’s Place Reservoir

A: Whilst this work space is very weather-dependent, the summer/early autumn is a great time to work here. Drake’s Reservoir is a hidden gem and a place of quiet in the middle of the city. If you’re a Plymouth University student like me, you’ll be able to pick up the university WIFI with no problems at all; I really like the fact that I am not restricted to book-based research and that I can get a lot of my internet work done too. There are tables and benches in spades as well as a neighboring coffee shop (great for meetings) and gardens for a more relaxed working environment.

***

So there you have it, our 6 favourite spaces to take our work out of the office, some for only the price of a much-needed coffee to boost our productivity! Where are your top picks? Can you recommend any to us? Not from Plymouth? No worries, we’d love to hear your local out-of-office work spaces wherever you are.

2 thoughts on “6 of the Best Places to Study/Work in Plymouth

  1. Really enjoyed reading about your favourite and unique workspaces in Plymouth! Feeling inspired to share a post with my favourite Southampton spots!

    • Thank you Rachel! Really glad you enjoyed it and that you’re feeling inspired. Would love to read your Southampton post! (I’ve only been there the once but we went to some lovely little haunts) :)

Leave a comment